Tags

, , , ,

Last fall, I began an experiment with Triberr. I’d heard great things about it from other authors–and a friend even hooked me up with “how-to” literature explaining the most effective ways to use Triberr. With my usual “why not?” shrug, I decided to give it a try.

Now, just because I make rash and casual decisions about things like this doesn’t mean I’m not dedicated. I’m a little OCD and a bit of a perfectionist, so I memorized the literature, did more research on effective use, and I opened an account. It didn’t take long for me to join some erotic romance groups as a member instead of a follower. I was dedicated to Tweeting pretty much everybody who wrote about romance or writing. I made it a part of my daily routine–fifteen minutes to go into three groups and Tweet my fellow authors. In return, they Tweeted my stuff.

Here are things that happened:

  1. I met Olga Miret Nunez, who I hired to translate Re/Bound into Spanish. She’s super nice and very talented.
  2. I felt like part of an author community, each of us supporting the other.
  3. Notifications on Twitter skyrocketed.
  4. My number of followers did not. This was the most disheartening. I had expected it to increase, but mostly my new followers were authors in my Triberr group or bots. They were gone as quickly as they appeared.
  5. There was no impact on my sales or exposure.

Here’s the biggest problem with Triberr: It floods your Twitter stream with notices that, truthfully, mean nothing to you or to your followers. In turn, Twitter tends to put you on their spam list and lock you out of your account. I think they actually suppress your Tweets because they’re the junk mail of the internet. Having my Twitter tied to my FB, I noticed this influx drowning out my own posts, and I disconnected my Twitter and FB accounts. And I found that the increase in notifications is just people Tweeting my blog posts, not that anyone was looking at the posts or engaging with them. Traffic to my blog did not increase.

After six months of, frankly, declining sales and exposure, I quit Triberr. It has taken a couple of months, but Twitter likes me again. They let my posts into the streams of my followers–who actually engage with me now. My Twitter following is growing–slowly, but still increasing steadily–with people who are real (readers, bloggers, etc.) I use the 15 minutes/day I spent on Triberr doing more productive things, like writing this blog post.

Do I think Triberr is worthwhile? No, I do not. I think a better use of my social media is to interact with my readers and friends, and a better use of my time is to write heartfelt romances.

~MZ

