Tags

, ,

The Unlikeable Demon Hunter: Sting (Nava Katz, #2)The Unlikeable Demon Hunter: Sting by Deborah Wilde

Blurb: 50% boobs. 50% sarcasm. 100% new breed of hunter.

After a bumpy start as the only female demon hunter in the top secret Brotherhood of David, Nava Katz heads to Prague for her first undercover mission: unmasking a demon movie star. She’d be all kinds of thrilled if it weren’t for the fact that her fellow hunter-with-benefits, Rohan Mitra, has reclaimed his rock star status and assigned Nava the role of groupie.

Rejecting her “be a good girl and follow orders” directive, Nava unleashes an alter ego guaranteed to hook their celebrity target and drive Rohan crazy. No downside–until she finds herself up against Rohan’s past, the Brotherhood’s antiquated thinking, and her own identity issues, turning her personal life into the bomb that could blow up the entire operation.

Sparkly and deadly; it’s a plan.

My rating: Freaking Fantastic

Once in a while a series comes along that makes you drop everything you’re doing and lose yourself in that world. Then you want to stalk the author to make sure she’s working on your next fix. The Nava Katz series is this drug for me.

Things I loved:
1. Nava–or Lolita, as she’s going by in this one. She’s the badass heroine I want to meet in all my fiction. She has a past, and pain gives her depth. She’s the kind of person to whom everyone can relate on some level.

2. Chemistry. Wilde has a knack for kicking the reader in the ovaries even while titillating us with hot sex scenes. I love erotic romance where the hot scenes contribute to the character’s growth. Now, I’m not going to give any spoilers away, but I almost cried during that last one, and I’m not one of those people who gets emotional while reading.

3. Rohan. The way Wilde writes the hero underscores the sanity in Nava’s insanity. If I was emotionally scarred like her, I’d definitely put concrete boundaries between Ro and me. Yet he’s not an asshole–more like a combination of clueless, lost, and uncertain how to handle Nava. I’ve been waiting two books for the ending of this one!

4. Always leave them wanting more. Wilde is gifted this way. I’ve loved both books in this series so far, and both times I’ve been both fulfilled and left wanting more.

5. Influences. Every great heroine and writer who has resonated with me is represented here in some way, the most obvious being Buffy/Whedon, though I see more Faith in her than Buffy.

6. Plot. The mission they went on to take down Samson was brilliantly designed to strip Nava bare and reveal every vulnerability and insecurity. Since this does not kill her, it leaves no choice but to make her stronger.

Things I disliked:
1. Nothing. I loved the characters, the heat, the mind-fuck of a plot–everything. Nothing to see here. Move along.

Notes for the future:
Rohan’s POV? Spinoff stories from the POV of Ari, Kane, Drio, Leo–ROHAN??? How about more female Rasha?

View all my reviews

