Tags

,

solstice-treeDear Readers,

In my family, we celebrate Winter Solstice. This holiday heralds the return of the light, when the days stop getting shorter and begin to lengthen. Every night, we mark the occasion by lighting a candle and telling what we’re most thankful for.

This year will be different. Due to my mom’s diagnosis with cancer coinciding with the sale of her house in Michigan in favor of one in Tennessee, I’m taking care of my mom. My mom has moved in with us, and my dad plans to come up to Michigan to stay here for my entire Winter Break. Normally I’d use this time to work on writing, but I’m not sure I can write erotic scenes with my parents in the next room. We’ll see how that works out. In addition, when I came out of the closet 20+ years ago, people weren’t as supportive, namely my mom. She banned Wife from her house, refused to acknowledge anything, and was very frosty with Wife for many years. Add to that normal mother-in-law disapproval, and you have to acknowledge that Wife is pretty much a saint.

I plan to focus on the positives, like the fact that mom’s treatments went well and she’s just here for blood work for the next few weeks. This year, that’s the thing for which I’m the most thankful.

Wishing you and yours many blessings!

MZ

