Tags

,

Blade’s Ghost

Blade's Ghost 500 by 750Emmaline Force has dedicated her life to using her gift of seeing and hearing ghosts to help the living understand the spirit world. Devastated after catching her fiancé cheating, Emmaline allows her best friend and partner-in-crime, Matt, to take a ghost hunting case far away, at Paradise Island Ranch Resort. However, she isn’t prepared for the deep and inexplicable connection she feels for one of the owners.

Haunted by more than a ghost, Blade Sanchez is tormented by dreams of a past he can’t recall. Tender, loving moments are interspersed with nightmares of a malevolent spirit murdering his wife and unborn child. Once Emmaline sets foot on his ranch, the pieces begin to fall into place, and he recognizes the woman of his dreams. He finds himself torn between this timeless love and the ghost who threatens to take Emmaline’s life—again.

Finding each other was fate, but it will take more than that to overcome the malevolent spirit intent on destroying their happiness.

Word Count: 68,418

Excerpt 2

A noise pulled her from her musings. Blade came into the room. Clad in pajama bottoms and nothing else, he was a vision of male beauty. Lamplight spilled across his chest, highlighting his dips and planes, and the little trail of hair that started below his navel and disappeared into his pants.

“Come to bed,” he said as he crossed the room, his hand extended expectantly. “It’s late.”

It was late. She didn’t take his hand. “I’ll go to bed soon.”

He knelt at her feet, leaned over, and kissed her stomach. And then he put his palm over her abdomen. “You’ll have plenty of time to finish that before the baby comes, Emmy. You have several months. You’re barely showing.”

She stared at him. He looked like he was wide awake, but she hadn’t traveled to this other world with him this time, so she had no idea what he was talking about. Still, she thought she should go along with it. “Blade, where do we live?”

He chuckled. “Anywhere you are is home, honey.” Taking his hand from her abdomen, he framed her face. “Mrs. Edmunds, it’s time for bed. You’re sleeping for two, and besides, your loving husband is lonely without you.”

Okay—he was capable of listening to her, so he wasn’t reliving a past conversation.

He kissed her lightly, and then he put his head on her lap and didn’t move. She caressed his hair away from his face and rubbed his back, but he was soundly asleep. Shaking his shoulder, she said, “Blade? Blade, honey, how about you go back to your room? You can’t sleep like this. It’ll eventually become uncomfortable for us both.”

With a groan, he sat back on his heels and looked at her.

“Are you awake, or are you still my loving husband who is lonely without me?”

Shifting, he sat on the couch next to her. “I was dreaming.”

“Yes, but it seems to be the same situation as this afternoon. Has this happened to you before?”

He scratched his forehead. “I’ve had dreams like this for years, but I never saw your face, not until last night. I’ve never sleepwalked before.”

“So the dreams didn’t start when you brought that house here?”

“No, but I’ve dreamed about that house before. When I saw it, I thought it was meant to be mine.”

“Do we live in that house—you and me and our little bun in the oven?”

He glanced at her stomach, but he didn’t seem surprised by her reference. “I don’t know. I get bits and pieces, but they don’t all make sense together.”

“In your dream, when you came in here, what was I doing? What was I wearing?”

Looking at her intently, he shook his head. “I don’t know. It’s gone. When I try to recall, I only see you here, looking at a file, wearing exactly what you’re wearing right now.”

“I’m interested in hearing about the other dreams you’ve had.”

His mouth set in a grim line and he got up. “I’m not interested in telling you about them.”

Standing, she set her hand on his bare arm. “Blade, I deserve to know.”

He looked at where she touched him and very gently closed his hand over hers. Then he looked at her with fever bright eyes, and she knew he wasn’t in the present anymore. “I’ll take care of you, Emmy. I promise I’ll protect you this time.”

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormichelezurlo/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MZurloAuthor

Blog: https://michelezurloauthor.wordpress.com/

Website: http://www.michelezurloauthor.com/

Buy Links: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RAak9CqlQo4ckl68HnulIfifLOC4kZDUN6om0ywg77s/edit?usp=sharing

Author Bio: I’m Michele Zurlo, author of the Doms of the FBI series and many other stories. I write contemporary and paranormal, BDSM and mainstream—whatever it takes to give my characters the happy endings they deserve.

I’m not half as interesting as my characters. My childhood dreams tended to stretch no further than the next book in my to-be-read pile, and I aspired to be a librarian so I could read all day. I ended up teaching middle school, so that fulfilled part of my dream. Some words of wisdom from an inspiring lady had me tapping out stories on my first laptop, so in the evenings, romantic tales flow from my fingertips.

I’m pretty impulsive when it comes to big decisions, especially when it’s something I’ve never done before. Writing is just one in a long line of impulsive decisions that turned out to showcase my great instincts. Find out more at http://www.michelezurloauthor.com or @MZurloAuthor.

 

