Tags

, ,

Working on a new series is hard, especially if it’s a spinoff. I’m thinking about all the ways it’ll be different from the original series. First off, it’ll be written in first person, alternating between the hero and heroine’s points of view. Second, the cases are going to focus more on treasure hunting–because why not? I love treasure hunts.

The first book will feature David and Autumn/Breanna. So here’s some insight into a recent writing experience. If you’re one of my FB friends, this’ll sound familiar.

13886988_1033856073358459_9128188058242618819_nI’m writing an intense scene, and something moves in the vicinity of my hair. I have some wild and curly hair, so this happens all the time, and it usually turns out to be a breeze or my imagination. Then I see it again, near the line of my headphones, but it kind of looks like a trick of the eye, with the wire moving over the print on the front of my shirt (which I got at Fisherman’s Wharf in Monterey) as I type.

Then I feel a tickle on my arm. I look down to see a big, black spider, and I realize that was the thing in my hair and on my chest. I leap up, ignoring Autumn being a SAM and throwing my laptop to the foot of the bed. The spider scurried onto the pillow I use to prop up my back. I throw the pillow to the floor and start screaming, “Not in my house! Not in MY hair!”

Wife rushes in to find me beating the hell out of the corpse with a flip flop. I look up at her, breathless and crazy-eyed. “It’s dead now.”

Of course, I’m hysterical–emotional from being so entrenched in the scene and being jerked out of it by a darn spider. Wife takes my hand and leads me to the bed and makes me sit down. She speaks in soothing tones as she disposes of the body, and then she hugs me until I calm down. Then she let loose with the laughter. She about died laughing. I do not see the humor in the situation.

I finished the first half of the scene, and then I took a dinner break. The image is courtesy of my littlest sister, who posted this meme right when I needed it.

I don’t have an ETA on the SAFE Security series, but I’m aiming for early in 2017. In the meantime, look for Re/Viewed (Doms of the FBI 6) later in 2016.

