Tags

, , , ,

KB: Welcome to Kissing Bandits Blog! Tell us a little bit about yourself!

author photoDC: Hi, Michele, and thank you for the invitation! My name is Dorothy Callahan, and I’ve been writing since high school (we’ll pretend that was only 5 years ago, despite all the reunions my graduating class has had) but only published since 2013. I love “love” and all of the nuances involved with it. I don’t limit myself to one genre, since the characters who demand I tell their stories don’t care if it’s a time travel, paranormal, contemporary or even historical. I write what the story (and characters) demand. Basically, I’m a slave to imaginary people.

I adore kittens and get my “fix” by fostering for our local humane society. My husband and I have fostered 16 litters since we moved here, but I’ve been fostering since 2001. We built a pen in the finished basement complete with yellow walls, window dressings, and multiple cat trees and posts. I love knowing that my efforts not only save lives, but also keep these babies from growing up wild and contributing to the feral cat population.

I also started a book group called READ AND RESCUE, where one can find animal-loving authors who support their own favorite shelters and causes. Every book on the site earns money for animals!

KB: Tell us a little bit about your most recent release.

DC: I’m going to thank our temporary Fed Ex guy for my latest release. He was seriously the hottest guy I’ve ever met. (Have you ever met a man who made you blush? As as adult? When you’re happily married to your best friend?) I took one look at him and thought “HOLLYWOOD ACTION HERO,” so I set about creating this new character’s and conflict.

TCASAMZ ecover 72dpi-1500x2000In “To Catch a Star,” Rex Ronin gets shipwrecked in Hawaii when his filming session turns into a tragedy. He washes ashore on a wildlife reserve where his agent wants him to build a resort in his name. But the scarred woman who saves him is so unlike his life of glamour that he’s immediately reminded of his life back home in Idaho. If Rex wants to ensure his fame and forturne, he’ll need to destroy Tori. And if Tori falls in love with Rex, he’ll want her to live in society, where everyone will notice the scars that drove her to work in solitude.

Was their shipwrecked encounter a disaster, or their destiny?

KB: What was your defining moment as a writer?

DC: I’d have to say it was the moment I opened up the email from Crimson Romance stating they wanted to buy my manuscript. I felt my jaw drop open, and even though I read it and reread it, the words hadn’t changed. They really wanted it! I kept saying, “Oh, my God. Oh, my God,” until my husband came up and asked if everything was okay. And then every word I ever knew spilled out of my mouth, and I started screaming that they wanted to buy my story, and suddenly I had to call my mom, and his mom, and my friend, and then another friend, and another and another and….

It exhausts and invigorates me every time I think on it.

KB: Pick out one of the best lines in your novel. What do you love about it?

DC: “I can’t compete with the world, Rex.”

“No, Tori, it’s the world who can’t compete with you.”

Tori is so self-conscious about the scars on her face from the car accident that she can’t believe anyone can see past them. But Rex has been so intrigued with her white-blue eyes, her gentle disposition, and her unity with nature that he doesn’t see them and has fallen in love. But how can the hottest man in America love a woman as scarred as Tori?

KB: What are your top three guilty pleasures?

DC: Chocolate, chocolate, and chocolate. No, that’s not exactly right.

Chocolate, cats, and chocolate. Um, close… but no cigar.

Chocolate, cats, and shopping for antiques. Well, I don’t need to buy any, actually, just window shop. Does window shopping count as guilt, since it’s free?

Cats, reading, and chocolate? Maybe.

Cats, writing, and chocolate ice cream.

Writing, chocolate ice cream, and surrounding myself with cats.

DING DING DING! We have a winner!

KB: What kinds of male characters do you prefer to write?

DC: I’m a big fan of the “Best Friend” archetype. I love my men to be supportive and am so lucky to have that in my personal life. I love “Warriors” as an archetype, too, so most of my heroes don’t mind kicking a little butt when necessary. Is that a Warrior trait, or simply being a Best Friend? They’re protective and strong and determined. They love their women unequivocally and always want to do what’s best for them and make them happy.  In my world, THAT’S a good man!

KB: What is something nobody would guess about you?

DC: I love shocking people with the fact that I both have and can play bagpipes. The next story I’m working on has a master piper as the hero. (He’s swoon-worthy, ladies, I promise!)

Thank you so much for inviting me to your blog. It’s been fun hanging out with you and I hope we can catch up sometime! If you want to find me, I’m at www.dorothycallahan.com, on Facebook at Dorothy Callahan Author, and also Pinterest at: callahan3768.  Hope to see you soon!

 

