Tags

,

Where I live, I have well water. Having been on a well for most of my life, I’m always happy about not having a water bill. I also am happy that the government has no say in my water source so they can’t poison me like they did to the good people of Flint. I live in Michigan, where water isn’t in short supply and the economy has seen to it that we’re not overpopulated, so there’s no rationing. Well, sometimes cities will ration if we’re having a drought, but that’s usually just for watering lawns. My sprinklers are fed from a pond in the backyard, and as long as I pay my association dues, we’re allowed to use it as a source.

But this area has huge pockets of rust. When we first moved here, we didn’t know that. All of our white clothes and the shower turned a dingy shade of yellow-red. A neighbor told us to get rust-removal salt for the softener, which took care of most of the problem. We also have two filters. It says to change them monthly, but we find that we have to do it every two weeks or so.

It’s Wife’s responsibility. Right or wrong, she takes care of the house. It’s taken me a couple of years, but I’ve discovered the first sign of a problem—when I heat my water for tea, it turns yellow in the mug. Beforehand, it’s clear and tastes fine. Afterward it’s yellowish, though it still tastes fine for a day or so. I’m always so happy when I figure stuff out.

