Tags

, ,

Lynn Crandall: The Interview

Lynn Crandall picKB: Welcome to Kissing Bandits Blog! Tell us a little bit about yourself!

 

Lynn: Thank you for hosting me on your delicious blog. I love cats, dogs, any and all animals. I don’t mind spiders and bugs, just not on me. I love writing. The process is a discovery for me because I’m a pantser. That not-knowing everything up front can cause anxiety, but I typically keep writing and so far, the writing hasn’t left me hanging.

 

KB: Tell us a little bit about your most recent release.

 

Lynn: Unstoppable, Book 5 in my Fierce Hearts series continues the stories of a colony of were-lynxes as they battle an evil group of powerful, influential, and ruthless people, The Nexus Group, to save their world. The heroine, Lara Monroe, and hero, Booker Chase, each suffer from trauma and loss. While they work with their colony members to thwart the bad guys, they also support each other in facing their pain and finding true love. I like to call Unstoppable the “epic” conclusion to the Fierce Hearts series. Epic because with everything at stake, the colony engages in individual and group battles with TNG soldiers and monsters that could change their world forever.

 

KB: What has been the most exquisite moment of your life?

 

Lynn: I love this question! The most recent took place with my husband as we sat quietly in a forest preserve and savored the exquisite beauty of quiet, breezes freshening the air, and the sounds of nature.

 

However, I am keenly aware of the amazing moment while writing Unstoppable when parts of the plot unfolded in unexpected ways. I love when that happens.

 

KB: What made you want to become a writer?

 

Lynn: I’m a typical writer. I love words, I love stringing words together in sentences and paragraphs in ways that say exactly what I want to convey. I have always written interesting words or phrase on scraps of paper, just collecting them for myself. But when I read the book, On Becoming a Novelist, by John Gardner, it was like coming home. He spoke my language and I knew I wanted to write, and write well.

 

Unstoppable coverKB: Pick out one of the best lines in your novel.

 

Lynn: What do you love about it? I’m going to cheat. I’m going to use four. “So many words rose to tell Booker how she felt in this moment, but Lara didn’t say any of them. Not now. The moment was too sacred for words. Instead, she kissed him, and with her kiss she told him everything in her heart.”

 

What I like about this line is that Lara gives herself to the moment of intimacy with Booker, whom she’s secretly loved for years. Words fail, but with a kiss, she pours herself fully into the relationship she’s longed for. Because of her past, doing so is for her taking a big risk. But she doesn’t hold back. She doesn’t let fear make her decision.

 

KB: What kinds of female characters do you prefer to write?

 

Lynn: I strive to write female characters who are strong, physically, mentally, spiritually, and emotionally. I want the heroine to have real inner conflicts and woundings to process. It’s a given that in a romance novel the hero and heroine are going to enjoy a happy ending regarding their relationship. But I want the getting there to be rich and full of experiences that challenge her perception of life. I want the heroine to see truth and expand to be able to contain it, and have the ability to see her choices and make them, not simply react. If I can write that kind of female character, I feel readers will see her strength comes with sensitivity, discernment, and awareness, which I feel are strong qualities.

 

KB: Share a funny or ironic anecdote.

 

Lynn: I like even numbers, so I’ll answer a fourth question. I have terrible penmanship. When I began writing about one hundred years ago, my sons were very young. One afternoon my then seven-year-old son looked at a stack of printed pages from my book. His eyes widened, and he asked, “How is anybody going to be able to read your writing?” He looked truly concerned, until I showed him the pages were not hand written.

 

Find Lynn Crandall at these places: http://lynn-crandall.com/

https://www.facebook.com/LynnCrandallAuthor/

https://twitter.com/lcrandall246

@lcrandall246

http://amzn.com/B01BNSUS2C

http://www.crimsonromance.com/paranormal-romance-books/unstoppable/ https://itunes.apple.com/us/author/lynn-crandall/id591517176?mt=11

Read these titles by Lynn Crandall: Dancing with Detective Danger, Always and Forever Love, Fierce Hearts series: Secrets, Cravings, Heartfelt, Probabilities, and Unstoppable

