Tags

, , , , , , ,

Janus was the Roman god of gateways and beginnings. He had two faces, but on him they were a good thing. One face looked back, contemplating the road just traveled, and the other face looked forward, dreaming about the future.

Kiss Me Goodnight cover

Kiss Me By Moonlight

2014 was a good year for me. It saw the release of two mainstream romances, the Kiss Me series, easily two of the best stories I’ve ever written. Critics loved them, though they didn’t sell very well. Oh well–they were a labor of love, and I remain devoted to Lacey and Dylan. Their story made me laugh and cry, and their journey was equally heartwarming and heartwrenching.

2014 saw the launch of my own small press, Lost Goddess Publishing. At present, I’m keeping it small. I’ve taken on two other authors to publish, and that means I’ve transitioned to editor as well as writer. I don’t think that job is for everybody, but I turned out to be surprisingly good at helping authors flesh out their stories. And I’m a whiz with commas. I wasn’t always able to claim that title. Working with Nicoline Tiernan has been great. (No, she’s not me, but she is one of my closest friends.) Her writing and her style have evolved a lot in the past year. If you like MM and haven’t picked up Tristan’s Lover yet, you’re really missing out. I’ve also begun an occasional blog series called Dirty Grammar, where I discuss grammar while using examples from adult scenes.

Tristan's Lover 5002014 also saw the first of my backlist returned to me. Loose Id returned Re/Bound to me. I tightened it up a bit, mostly tinkering with the ending to make that last scene work better. It finally clicked, and the Amazon reviews for it skyrocketed from 12 to 30. As it’s available for lending on Kindle, it’s not available for sale through other venues. It was briefly nominated for the Golden Flogger award until the person who nominated it (who runs the conference) discovered it was originally published in 2012, and so it was disqualified. Ah, well. It was an honor to have been briefly nominated. Re/Bound is one of my favorite novels, and I’m just happy people are enjoying it.

ReBound-FJM_Low_Res_500x750Janus also looks forward, so here’s what I have planned for 2015–

January-February-March will see the launch of my new menage series, Dragon Kisses. Right now it’s a trilogy, but my beta readers have used strong language to indicate the series should continue. The premise behind it is science fiction-ish: Five humans wake up one morning to find they’ve been transported to a world where dragon shifters (Zmaj) keep humans as sex slaves. They feed on human sexual energy. Book 1 is told through Cassie and Niall’s eyes. We get to know the new world and the dragon culture. Both Cassie and Niall fall in love with the dragons who claimed them, and of course they balk at the idea of being sex slaves. The menage part comes from my scientific mind: There’s no way a 600-pound dragon can shift into one person. That ignores the law of conservation of mass. Six-hundred pounds can shift into 4-5 humanoid shapes, and so each dragon shifts into 3-5 aspects. The aspects may have separate bodies, but they function as one person. It’s quite an interesting concept that I hope you’ll come to enjoy as much as my beta readers did.

Book 2 follows Arabella, who is captured when a rival group of dragons raid the human settlement next to Zmaj. She has amnesia, and though Tobin initially lies to her about their relationship, they eventually fall in love–and that puts them both in danger from the Inamanida King, who treats humans as disposable flesh. This story also follows Jonathan, a man who was born on Zmaj and finds his world turned upside down when it’s revealed that his biological father was a dragon. Not only does he have to contend with coming of age and becoming a shifter, but he must deal with Laurel–the woman he likes who is terrified of dragons.

Book 3 brings all those storylines together. Arabella and Tobin are in Zmaj, where they’ve fled. Attack from the Inamanida is imminent. Not only do they want revenge on Tobin, but they want to destroy the Zmaj warriors who are protecting the few humans on the planet. Laurel is forced to confront her fears and her feelings for Jonathan. Cassie and Niall’s lives are put on the line as well. I meant for this to be the conclusion of the story, but some things happened that I hadn’t foreseen, and it leaves things open for more to the stories.

2015 will see the return of five Siren-Bookstrand titles to me. Some will be revised and re-released. Others will go away forever. Lettting Go should come back to me in February. As my first published novel, it hold an extremely special place in my heart. It will go away for a couple of months as I get ready to relaunch it. I’ve already done a lot of revisions to make it fit my original vision, and I’ve added parts in response to readers who’ve written me about it. I’ll also get back Hanging On, Irrepressible Force, Tomorrow Cries (under another name), and Two Masters for Samantha. I’m pretty sure I’m getting some Loose Id titles back–Re/Paired and perhaps the Oasis series (though there may be another year on that contract.)

2015 will also see the third book in the Doms of the FBI series finally come out. I’ve been sitting on that one for two years because, as I’ve realized, writing while under the influence of a concussion isn’t the best idea in the world. It’s been majorly overhauled, and at last I have the story I want. Call me picky, but you’ll be glad for that when you finally read it! I’ve already begun brainstorming book 4 in that series. Amy will finally get her happy ending.

Best Wishes for a Happy New Year! I hope it’s the best one yet!

Love, Michele

