Tags

, ,

Becoming an editor has been a curious and interesting journey. I have the requisite skills–a BA in English and a MA in Literacy were just a start. I’ve worked with some fantastic editors over the past five years, the length of time I’ve been involved in the publishing world. I’ve learned loads from them, and I’ve put those skills to use.

As a writer, I have waited anxiously for weeks to receive manuscripts back from an editor, and when I got them, I’d tear into them zealously. Some edits I’d cringe at–especially if they required difficult decisions–and other times I’d marvel at my editor’s brilliance.

As an editor, I waited anxiously for my authors to send back each round of edits so I can see what kind of magic they worked.

Now that I’ve been on both sides of that coin, I can truly understand and appreciate the teamwork that goes into helping each manuscript reach its full potential. It’s an exciting adventure, and I’m enjoying every step.

