Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I heard from an editor at Omnific Publishing yesterday. The exciting thing about working with a new publisher is getting to know their publication process. I’ve been through it with two other publishers–Siren and Loose Id–and each one is different.

Siren, the first publisher to take a chance on me, has a two-tiered process. The first time, the editor picks out grammatical errors or typos. The second time, they go for content revisions. Since I prefer to do things the other way around, I’ve learned to use beta readers so that I can take care of the content revisions beforehand. Since I’m an English teacher, and I rock at grammar and stuff, I never have much in the way of revision from Siren. Also, I never even get to know the name of the person who read my manuscript and left their comments in the margins. I have no contact with them at all.

Loose Id, my second publisher, is very different. With them, I work through one editor. She works with me through content revisions, a back-and-forth that can last through several months. If I have questions, I can ask her and she’ll respond. That was new to me. I like knowing the name and being able to contact the person who worked on my manuscript. I also liked working with the same person on every release I had through LI. We got to know one another’s styles, and I really feel like she made me a better writer. Other eyes also look at my manuscript once my editor and I are finished with the content revisions. It goes through another editor and a proofreader, and they find pretty much everything. That works well for me because I’m a perfectionist. I HATE rereading my published works and finding mistakes.

Omnific is a newer publisher, one I’ve decided to take a chance with. Unlike my decision to go with LI, I don’t know anybody currently published with them, so I didn’t have anybody to pester with questions. From this first interaction, it looks like I’ll be working with an editorial team. I get to know their names, and I have contact with all of them. The series I’m publishing through them–Kiss Me–is probably one of the best things I’ve ever written. I’m hoping my new acquaintances will make it even better.

I have no idea when it’s due out. I’m guessing sometime in 2014. This December, In Their Hearts (Two Masters for Samantha 2) is due out from Siren. Edits haven’t landed in my inbox yet. I’m hoping they do soon. The story is strong and dynamic, but Siren has asked me to add it more sex. Those scenes take some time and significant effort  to write well.

Meanwhile, I’m reading through my draft of Re/Imagined (Doms of the FBI #3) and wondering when I’ll feel comfortable enough with it to send it off to beta readers. I’m self-publishing this one once it’s ready–my first foray into the independent publishing world. I’ve named my company Lost Goddess Publishing, sort of after the line from the Violent Femmes song Kiss Off (“nine for a lost god”) that keeps getting stuck in my  head. Now it’s in yours. <giggles>

Anyway, that’s what’s up with me. I hope your weekend is getting off to a lovely start!

